Subang Jaya’s Top Cop “Steals” the Show at MBSJ’s Residents Committee Awards Night 2023

Best Dressed Man in the house at MBSJ's Residents Committee Awards Night 2023

SUBANG Jaya’s top cop ACP Wan Azlan Wan Mamat “stole” the show when he showed up at MBSJ’s Residents Committee Awards Night 2023 in his eye-catching retro outfit last night (Jan 19 2024).

His “curly and bushy” Afro locks with matching sunglasses, bright yellow shirt and a gleaming red jacket even caught MBSJ Mayor Dato Mohd Fauzi Mohd Yatim’s attention from the stage. Wan Azlan looked ready to take the stage to show his moves to the tune of Saturday Night Fever.

He clinched the Best Dressed Male prize for the night and sportingly posed for photographs with his “fans”.

Representatives from 24 zones across MBSJ led by their councillors were on the edge of the seat as results from the 9 categories contested were read out.

  • Anugerah Program Kemasyarakatan MPP MBSJ Terbaik 2023
  • Anugerah Pengurusan Projek Inden MPP MBSJ Terbaik 2023
  •  Anugerah Kejiranan Hijau MPP MBSJ Terbaik 2023
  •  Anugerah Program Alam Sekitar MPP MBSJ Terbaik 2023
  •  Anugerah Pengurusan Pentadbiran MPP MBSJ Terbaik 2023
  •  Anugerah MPP MBSJ Inovatif Terbaik 2023
  •  Anugerah MPP MBSJ Terbaik Keseluruhan Tahun 2023
  •  Anugerah Pangsapuri & Kampung Angkat Komuniti Berdaya
  •  Anugerah MPP Terbaik Keseluruhan 2023

Before the evening came to a close, MPP Zone 4 led by councillor Kamarul Hisham clinched the Best Overall MPP Award for 2023, bringing home a cash prize of RM10,000.

Second spot for this category went to MPP Zone 24 led by councillor Thamilarusu Sandayan followed by MPP Zone 16 led by councillor Yap Kok Weng. Both won RM5,000 and RM3,000 respectively.

In his speech, Mohd Fauzi said 6,842 programs were carried out by all 24 MPPs across MBSJ with the focus on “No One Left Behind”.

The awards are to acknowledge and recognise the efforts by all the MPPs in bridging the gap between the local authority and the community, he said.

Also present at the event were Selangor Exco for Investment, Trade and Mobility Ng Sze Han; Subang MP Wong Chen; ADUN Kota Kemuning Preakas Sampunathan; ADUN Sri Serdang Abbas Azmi and ADUN Seri Kembangan Wong Siew Ki.